This is the "Step 1: General Directions" page of the "Create Direct Links to Articles, eBooks, Videos and More" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
- Find specific directions for:American History in Video WindowCINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health) WindowClassical Music Library WindowDiscovery Education streamingEBSCOhost databases WindowFilms on Demand (FMG) WindowGale databases WindowGeneral OneFile WindowGetAbstractHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition WindowInfoTrac Databases WindowJSTOR WindowLexisNexis Academic WindowLiterature Resource Center WindowMagillOnLiterature Plus WindowMasterFILE Premier WindowNAXOS Music Library WindowNetLibrary eBook Collection WindowNursing & Allied Health Collection WindowOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center WindowPoints of View Reference Center WindowTheatre in Video WindowWilsonOmniFile Full Text Select Window

Admin Sign In 

Create Direct Links to Articles, eBooks, Videos and More  Tags: persistent_links stable_urls faculty staff  

Enhance your course with online reading lists, video and music playlists.
Last update: Aug 5th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.chattanoogastate.edu/direct_links  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Step 1: General Directions         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

General Directions for Creating Direct Links

General Directions

  1. Open a library database and select the item you want your students to access.

  2. Locate and copy the persistent or stable link/URL provided by the database.
    Different databases use different names for direct links: persistent, stable, or durable URLs or links.

  3. For most databases, paste this URL after the library proxy server URL.

          https://libdb.chattanoogastate.edu:3443/login?url=

          Don't worry, this process will soon be automated in Step 3.
          ** This new proxy server will bypass the need to type passwords when it is used within eLearn! **

  4. Your final link, to be used in website or your document, will look something like this:

Complete URL includes the library's prefix followed by the database item's stable url: https://libdb.chattanoogastate.edu:3443/login?url=http://www.netlibrary.com/ebook_info.asp?product_id=253795


Specific Directions

Use the "Select Database" tab for instructions on specific databases.

Note: Some library databases DO NOT provide direct links to their content.

If you don't see a database in the list, contact a librarian at 423-697-4436.

 

Interested in Your Thoughts

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:


Your email address, so we can get back to you:


 
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait