This is the "Discovery Education streaming" page of the "Create Direct Links to Articles, eBooks, Videos and More" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
- Find specific directions for:American History in Video WindowCINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health) WindowClassical Music Library WindowDiscovery Education streamingEBSCOhost databases WindowFilms on Demand (FMG) WindowGale databases WindowGeneral OneFile WindowGetAbstractHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition WindowInfoTrac Databases WindowJSTOR WindowLexisNexis Academic WindowLiterature Resource Center WindowMagillOnLiterature Plus WindowMasterFILE Premier WindowNAXOS Music Library WindowNetLibrary eBook Collection WindowNursing & Allied Health Collection WindowOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center WindowPoints of View Reference Center WindowTheatre in Video WindowWilsonOmniFile Full Text Select Window

Admin Sign In 

Create Direct Links to Articles, eBooks, Videos and More  Tags: persistent_links stable_urls faculty staff  

Enhance your course with online reading lists, video and music playlists.
Last update: Aug 5th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.chattanoogastate.edu/direct_links  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Discovery Education streaming         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Create a Link, a Video List, or Embed Video

Discovery Education streaming logo Open the Discovery Education streaming video database. 

      NEW! If a video link is used within eLearn, the video will open without library's user ID and password

LINK to individual videos or CREATE a video list
        (in "My Content") to use throughout a semester:

 

LINK to Individual Videos

  1. Select the video or video segment you want your students to access.
  2. Right click on the title and "Copy Shortcut" or "Copy Link Location."

    Your link will look similar to the one below.  It may subsitute ".com/player.cfm?guidAssetID="
    http://player.discoveryeducation.com/index.cfm?guidAssetId=88FCD751-614A-40BD-85BA-B0805A7B63AB&blnFromSearch=1&productcode=US#

   You are FINISHED!  No prefix needed!

CREATE a List of Videos

You may prefer to create a list of videos to which you will refer students during the semester.

  1. Create a user account or simply add to "My Content" anonymously.
  2. Open "My Content" (right side of screen)
  3. Select "Add Folder" and save in "My Content (Global)."  Proceed as instructed.
    or simply select a video and below the segment list (#1 below), "Add selected items to 'My Content.'"

    Create a new folder (#2) if needed or add to an existing one.
    Feel free to create a folder for each course.

 

Download the Video

Download the Video

Note: CDE requests that we LINK to a video within eLearn! 
         Okay to download video to a classroom or office PC for a semester.

  1. Right-click on the download icon and choose "Save Target As..." or "Save Link As" depending on your Internet Browser.

    Download icon

  2. Download as Windows Media (for eLearn) by selecting the file type from the drop down below the video player.
    If hyperlinking within a PowerPoint presentation or Microsoft Word document, be sure to save the download within the same folder as the presentation or document.  In PowerPoint, test the link within "Side Show" mode.
 

Closed Captioning

Closed Captioning
Many videos are available with closed captioning (Windows Media Player only).

 

To activate closed captioning, click on the Closed Captioning icon at the bottom of each individual box for a segment or video.
Look for CC



To download videos with closed captioning:

  1. First download the video following the above instructions. 
  2. Next click on the closed captioning icon next to the video to download the closed captioned file.
    Closed captioning icon
    Important! This file must reside in the same directory as the video and the filename (before the .smi extension) must be identical to the video filename.
 
 

Copyright Issues

LINK indefinitely to video.

DOWNLOAD video for a semester only.

"Copies must be deleted or erased after use or expiration of the Term, whichever occurs first."

Read the full Terms of Use.

 

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian!

Call: 423-697-4436
              or x4448

Email: reference
    @chattanoogastate.edu

Instant Messaging:    

Type your question in the chat window if a librarian is online.


Guide Author: Sandra Williford

Last Update: Summer 2010

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait