This is the "Home" page of the "MG 103: Company Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MG 103: Company Project   Tags: business, companies, management  

http://libguides.chattanoogastate.edu/mg103
Last Updated: Jun 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.chattanoogastate.edu/mg103 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This assignment guide  provides selected resources and research tips for your company project.

These resources will lead you to credible and accurate information about your company.

 

Ask a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

 

Call: 423.697.4436

TextChatt (text us): 423.443.4338

Email

 

What Are the Database Passwords?

Only current students have access to library databases.

To obtain the library's login information:

  1. Login to eLearn
  2. Locate "Library Resource Passwords"
       under the Library link.

In D2L, look for the link to

 

Database passwords change each semester, so check eLearn!

 

Summer Library Hours

Mon. - Thurs. 7:30 am - 9:00 pm

Friday             7:30 am - 4:30 pm

Weekend hours begin in September.

Kolwyck Library is getting a makeover!

Library resources and staff are temporarily located in the Reading Center - IMC 215.

Reference 423.697.4436

Main Library  423.697.4448

 

Getting Started

Before You Select Your Company

 

Remember:

     * Your company must be publicly traded.
     * Have easy access to company information.

 

First Steps to Take

  Some teachers will want you to Select a Company from the Dow 30.

Note the ticker symbol for your company (see box below).

1. Explore your company's website, the primary resource for your research.

   However, the website will provide only ONE point of view
         . . . the view the company WANTS you to see.

You will want to also explore the "Investor Relations"  or "Shareholders" webpage.
         Look for "Annual Report" or the company's "10K" report.
            Within these reports, be sure to read:
                *"Management's Discussion & Analysis"
                *"Business Description"

          Learn more about Annual Reports from:
                 Credo Reference
                 Investopedia

Need more? Read a Book:
Annual Reports 101: What the Numbers and the Fine Print Can Reveal about the True Health of a Company

 

2.  Obtain the Company Dossier for your company.
         The dossier, a collection of documents, is provided by the LexisNexis Academic database.
         Use "Passwords" tab for off-campus access to library databases.

      Questions to answer as you consider a company for the project:

  Publicly-traded company?
  Easy access to information?
  Enough coverage
?
  Required project elements available?
  Note the company's ticker symbol
     See box below.

Ticker Symbol

Company names can be tough to search. 

    Knowing your company's ticker symbol early in the project will ease the research process.

 

What Is a Ticker Symbol?

  • A letter or group of letters selected by each publicly-traded company
       E.g. Chattem's ticker symbol is CHTT.
  • Unique to each company
       Symbol will retrieve information about your specific company and not another one with a similar name.
  • Facilitates trade of company's stock by eliminating confusion between similar names
  • Sometimes referred to as "stock symbol"

Learn more

Find the Ticker Symbol

   Use the ticker symbol of companies when this search option is available.

      

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image
    Sandra Williford
    Contact Info
    423.697.2578 Office or
    423.697.4436 Reference Desk
    Send Email
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip